Knights of Columbus

(Amended September 19, 2004)



The name of the organization shall be the Western New York Conference of the Knights of Columbus.


The purpose of this organization shall be:

1. To promote more effectively the programs of the Knights of Columbus.

2. To secure more effectively cooperation among Councils of this Conference.

3. To secure more equitable representation in the State Offices and a more equitable dissemination of honors throughout the Conference.

4. To develop more actively and promote more successfully leadership in all phases of Knights of Columbus activity.


The Western New York Conference shall comprise the geographic area of the Diocese of Buffalo and any adjacent Council located within any district forming a part of the Conference that are desirous of joining.

At any meeting of the Conference, each council shall be entitled to get two votes to be cast by its two delegates, on in their absence, their Alternate Delegates, duly elected to represent the council at the Annual Convention of the State Council. In the absence of a Delegate and his Alternate Delegate, a representative shall cast his vote in attendance designated by the Grand Knight in writing to the Conference Secretary/Treasurer.


The Conference shall consist of three sections, as follows – the Northern Section, the Central Section, and the Southern Section. Each section shall have one representative on the Executive Committee. The Chairman shall rotate, in turn among the sections.

The Officers of the Conference shall consist of a Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer who shall be elected for a term of two years from July 1 through June 30. There shall be an Executive Committee consisting of three (3) members – one (1) from each section of which one (1) shall be Chairman designated by rotation beginning in 2005 – Southern, 2007 – Central, and 2009 – Northern. They too shall be elected for a term of two years. The Chairman, Secretary/Treasurer and members of the Executive Committee shall be entitled to one (1) vote each.

The Officers and members of the Executive Committee shall be elected at the Annual Spring meeting starting in 2005, during the so-called odd years, i.e. 2005, 2007, 2009, etc. All Conference Officers and members of the Executive Committee shall be Third Degree Knights of Columbus.

The Chairman shall preside at all meetings. He shall likewise be Chairman of the Executive Committee of this body. In the event of his absence, the Executive member next in succession shall preside over the meeting; he shall hold the title of Vice-Chairman. If both officers are absent, those in attendance shall elect a Chairman for the meeting and Secretary pro-tem if needed.

The Secretary/Treasurer shall keep a true and accurate record of all meetings. His minutes shall be typed and read at the succeeding meeting unless waived by a majority vote of those present at the meeting.

In the event that a vacancy occurs if a member of the Executive Committee, the remaining Executive Committee and former State Officers shall select a successor from the area which is vacant. The member chosen will finish out the term until the next election of Conference officers. In the event of it being the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman will run all meetings until the new Chairman is picked.


Delegates to the Supreme Convention:

When the Western Conference is allotted a Delegate or Delegates to the Supreme Convention, then the following rotation shall be effective among the sections. Beginning in 2005 with the Northern Area, followed by the Central Area 2006 and then the Southern Area 2007. This same rotation will continue in future years.


Order of Business shall be:

1. Call to Order

2. Check membership cards

3. Prayer and Pledge of Allegiance

4. Reading of minutes of previous meeting

5. Report of Executive Committee

6. Unfinished business

7. New business

8. Elections

9. Chaplain

10. Good of the Order

11. Prayer

12. Adjournment

Roberts Rule of Order shall govern the conduct of meetings

There shall be at least two (2) meetings of this Conference each year. One meeting shall be held in the Spring of the year and one in the Fall. These business meetings shall be held at the call of the Chairman at a place determined by a majority vote of the members of the Executive Committee.


There shall be a dues payable by each Council in the Conference, payable at the Fall meeting in the amount of Forty dollars ($40.00), (amended September 19, 2004) per annum to cover expenses of the Conference. A Council who has not paid the $40.00 dues shall not be entitled to a vote July 2005. The Secretary/Treasurer will send out dues notices to councils in a timely manner before the Fall meeting.


There shall be one standing Committee which shall be called the Executive Committee. This Committee shall consist of the Chairman and two (2) members of the Conference duly elected, who shall be duly authorized representatives of the Conference at the Upstate Conference Meetings.


All elections and other matters, subject to voting, shall be decided by a majority vote of authorized representatives present.